myulchi bokkeum – korean stir-fried anchovies

Being a lover of anchovies, whenever I had banchan at Korean Restaurants, I always ordered more refills of their spicy and sticky anchovies. They go so well with rice, porridge e.g. When I saw this recipe at http://thedomesticgoddesswannabe.com I knew I had to try making it myself. First time I tried I did not use Airfryer to crisp up the anchovies, the next time I tried, I did and it tasted so much better!

  • 1 cup (about 55g) dried anchovies
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon gochujang (Korean hot pepper paste)
  • 1/2 tablespoon honey
  • 4 teaspoon water
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  1. Airfry anchovies 180ºC for about 7 mins. Have to stir it halfway through for even crisping.
  2. Mix the gochujang, brown sugar, minced garlic, water, honey in a bowl and pour into the pan.
  3. Simmer until the sauce has thickened a little and looks shiny.
  4. Return anchovies back to the pan, turn the heat off. Mix.
  5. Add sesame oil. Toss and mix well.

IMG_3966

Leave a comment