My angst towards a colleague

I always think I have a slow fuse but recent days my colleague has been lighting up this fuse of mine till I am ready to explode.

It all started with my insurance claims which she has lost in her mountain of messiness that resides at her table.  And when I asked her about the claims, she would always deny their existence on her messy table but they must be with me.  She is as forgetful as me by the way but she will never admit her forgetfulness in any situation.  And when she found them on her table, she did not apologise, took no action and said the insurance agent were slow in processing.  I got rather annoyed and spoke to my insurance agent who coincidentally knew the boss of the insurance company I submitted my claims to.  He wrote an email to the boss and then the truth was revealed that the claims were with her for at least half a year and she only submitted them early this year.  My accident happened in 2014.  I wouldn’t be that upset if she had admitted her wrong instead of shifting the blame to me and the agent.

Another incident happened recent weeks that she lost my medical certificates and claims again!  This time round, she blamed my other colleague who passed to her for not opening up the envelope as she could not remember how they looked like.  In the first place, why would someone open another’s envelope without permission to see the content?  Thankfully I decided to be smarter and scanned all my documents passed to her.  So when she saw the documents via the email, she was still unrepentant and said the cleaner may have thrown them away.  It took her many days and finally she found the medical certificates but she lost the claims.  She still had the audacity to ask me to go get all the originals from the doctors and she will post them again.  I did not want to trust her this time round and said I will do the posting.  She actually got unhappy.  What’s with her and her attitude?  She cannot be trusted with documents and always misplaces them, yet she wants to stake her control.

I was really pissed after these few incidents but also because these incidents happened many times before.  Not only with my stuff but with other colleagues’ stuff too and she never admits her fault and her messy table.

But God reminded me in my QT recently in 1 Thessalonians 5: 13 & 15 to be at peace and do not repay evil for evil and to do good.  I felt ashamed thus that I harbored a grudge for so long.  That un-forgiving heart and the deliberate action to feed my anger have been eating into me too.  I know the right thing to do yet I do not want to do it, James says it’s a sin.

Lord help me with my contrite heart.

Leave a comment